National AHEC Scholars

The National AHEC Scholars program will provide you with experiences beyond the classroom through rural rotations, interdisciplinary learning and financial assistance. West Texas AHEC will award scholars up to $1,600 for a two-year commitment. The program is open to all students enrolled in healthcare and pre-healthcare certificate or degree programs.

    Students from the following disciplines are eligible to participate:

  • Dentist
  • Dental Assistant
  • Dental Hygienist
  • Doctor of Osteopathy Medicine (DO)
  • Licensed Vocational Nurse (LVN)
  • Medical Doctor (MD)
  • Nurse Practitioner
  • Pharmacy
  • Physician Assistant
  • Public Health
  • Radiology Technologist
  • Registered Nurse
  • Respiratory Therapy
  • Social Work
  • Speech Pathology